University of Bedfordshire

  • Institution Type:University
  • Location:Bedford,United Kingdom

About You:

I'm studying hereI'm going to study hereI've studied here
I work hereI'm going to work hereI used to work here

Add a summary / introduction...



The University of Luton was a university based in Luton, the largest town in Bedfordshire. The institution was founded as the Modern School in the 1890s. It became Luton College of Higher Education with the merger of Luton College of Technology and Putteridge Bury College of Education in the mid-seventies. With the passing of the Further and Higher Education Act, 1992 it converted to university status in 1993. On the 15 December 2005, the University announced that it was taking over the Bedford campus of De Montfort University. With permission from the Privy Council, the preferred name of the University of Bedfordshire came into effect on 1 August 2006.

The campus at Bedford dates back to the Bedford Training College for Teachers which was founded in 1882 and Bedford Physical Training College founded in 1903. These merged with a further education college to become the Bedford College of Higher Education. In 1994 the higher education areas of the college merged with De Montfort University (based in Leicester). There are currently just under 3,000 students based in Bedford.

Putteridge Bury is a neo-Elizabethan country mansion located on the edge of Luton on the A505 road to Hitchin. The campus is situated in approximately thirty acres of landscaped gardens. Putteridge Bury can be traced back to Edward the Confessor's time and has links to the Domesday Book. The building was completed in 1911 and was designed by architects Sir Ernest George and Alfred Yeats in the style of Chequers, having had various redesigns and rebuilds over the years. The campus is home to the university's postgraduate business school as well as the university’s Conference Centre.


The university has two main campuses: Luton (in the town centre), and Bedford (on Polhill Avenue). Both these campuses have on campus accommodation. There are also two dedicated campuses for the teaching of nursing and midwifery degrees at Butterfield Park on the outskirts of Luton and at the Buckinghamshire campus at Oxford House in Aylesbury. The university also has a fifth site which is Putteridge Bury, home of the University of Bedfordshire's Knowledge Hub and postgraduate Business School.

External Links

1. University of Bedfordshire

2. University of Bedfordshire Students' Union

3. Bedfordshire University Profile